Dubai Golf Information


Dubai Desert Classic
Dubai Desert Classic

The Dubai Desert Classic tournament has been established in 1989. The professional tournament is being held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates every year. It is part of the PGA European Tour schedule. The course used for the tournament is the Emirates Golf Club's Majlis. There are various restaurants and bars, gymnasium and tropical swimming pool. In 1999 and 2000 it has been temporarily moved to the Dubai Creek Golf Club, but it is now back to the Emirates Golf Club. The course is Named among the world's top 100 golf courses in a survey. The event is extremely attractive for big stars. The main sponsor of the Desert Classic is DUBAL Aluminum, but notable sponsors are also Emaar Properties, Emirates Airlines, CNN, BMW, Gulf News and many others.

Dubai Golf History


Dubai Desert Classic
2008 Tiger Woods - United States
2007 Henrik Stenson - Sweden
2006 Tiger Woods - United States
2005 Ernie Els - South Africa
2004 Mark O'Meara - United States
2003 Robert-Jan Derksen - Netherlands
2002 Ernie Els - South Africa
2001 Thomas Björn - Denmark
2000 José Coceres - Argentina
1999 David Howell - England
1998 Jose Maria Olazabal - Spain
1997 Richard Green - Australia
1996 Colin Montgomerie - Scotland
1995 Fred Couples - United States
1994 Ernie Els - South Africa
1993 Wayne Westner - South Africa
1992 Seve Ballesteros - Spain
1991 No tournament

Emirates Airlines Desert Classic
1990 Eamonn Darcy - Republic of Ireland

Karl Litten Desert Classic
1989 Mark James - England

Official Site:

Desert Classic